treeengineer.blogg.se

4k monitor for mac mini late 2012
4k monitor for mac mini late 2012












  1. 4K MONITOR FOR MAC MINI LATE 2012 UPGRADE
  2. 4K MONITOR FOR MAC MINI LATE 2012 PC
  3. 4K MONITOR FOR MAC MINI LATE 2012 MAC

If I choose any of the other resolutions, it changes to 30 Hz. When I select this resolution, System Preferences indicates the refresh rate is 60 Hz. When I went into System Preferences: Display and held dow the Command key (as recommended by Songbo Chih above), however, I saw a much wider range of resolutions, including 2560×1440. If I choose “Default for display,” the computer recognizes and names the Dell P2415Q, but the display is in 30 Hz and, although the image is very sharp in most applications, fonts are blurry in Microsoft Office apps, Adobe apps, and others. (Sometimes it fails to detect and I have to turn it off and on a few times.) The range of resolution choices in System Preferences: Displays: Display was limited. The display detects the computer when connected with mini-Display Port to Display Port cable.

4K MONITOR FOR MAC MINI LATE 2012 MAC

I recently purchased a late 2014 (latest model) Mac Mini running OS Sierra and a Dell P2415Q 4K display. Life Hacks, Misc 4k, apple, hd 3000, HiDPI, intel, mac, mac mini, macbook, mid 2011, osx, samsung, U28D590D, uhd, yosemite If you have a solution for this let me know. – on DisplayPort I get constant noise on dark background. – on HDMI I get short image interruptions every few minutes On Mac Mini Mid 2011 when using 3840×2160 I couldn’t get rid of instability issues:

4k monitor for mac mini late 2012

I just hope the problem is not there because of the Intel adapter overclock. I strongly suspect is the poor quality of the HDMI cable but I’m not really sure. Randomly at 10-30 minute intervals the screen went black for one-two seconds. Switching between these resolutions worked like charm but there was a problem. Here’s a screenshot with the UHD (4k) resolution on my Mac Mini Wow! The resolutions I need are already listed, no need to create custom ones. Now was about time to tune up SwitchResX… After first start I was like… This tool actually helps fixing the kext files, so run it any way. After some reading on internet I found out that I need to remove the 165 MHz pixel clock limitation in a different way that I did for Mavericks… From this list I’ve picked Dark Void’s script.Įventually I’ve enabled the HiDPI modes and changed the amount of VRAM to 1Gb to be sure that all things are prepared.Īfter increasing VRAM (by following the instructions) and rebooting I’ve got a miserable 7Mb of VRAM 🙂 but Turbowald hint’s helped to recover and after next reboot got 1Gb VRAM. Here’s a rough list of the settings for 2560×1440:Īfter updated to Yosemite strangely this resolution didn’t work anymore out of the box. On OSX Mavericks I was able to set 2560×1440 resolution w/o problems by just running SwitchResX and creating this resolution as a custom resolution. Please note that I didn’t use the “natural” miniDisplay Port to Display Port cable that would connect the Mac Mini with the Samsung’s Display Port. So, I have ended up connecting the HDMI Output from Mac Mini to the Samsung HDMI input and miniDisplay port from Mac Mini for the secondary monitor that was an usual Full-HD monitor. Tried many combinations and I couldn’t get on Mac Mini more than Full-HD on both monitors…Īfter reading around I got to the conclusion that the only chance is to start focusing on getting the UHD (4k) resolution on HDMI…

4k monitor for mac mini late 2012

Mac Mini has an old Intel HD3000 graphic adapter that by default shares 288Mb of RAM with the system memory and apparently has a pixel clock limitation.

4K MONITOR FOR MAC MINI LATE 2012 PC

On my Windows PC the UHD resolution worked out-of-the box since the graphic card was pretty performant but on Mac Mini didn’t. Recently I’ve purchased this Samsung UHD Monitor. This is the best investment I did for this Mac. Got 8Gb from Amazon and installed the RAM (~2 minutes).įew years later the default harddisk felt slow and I have added an 250Gb SSD Drive:

4k monitor for mac mini late 2012

4K MONITOR FOR MAC MINI LATE 2012 UPGRADE

įirst thing I did was to upgrade the RAM. Was a pretty good deal ~550 Euro for the 2.3 GHz i5 Model. I have purchased my Mac Mini end of 2011.














4k monitor for mac mini late 2012